V/A - Shep Pettibone: Mastermixes 2LP (SALSOUL)

sold out

V/A - Shep Pettibone: Mastermixes 2LP (SALSOUL)

Add To Cart

[via Resident Advisor] Salsoul has put together a new LP collecting Shep Pettibone's remixes of some of the disco labels's most enduring tracks. 

Authorized by Pettibone himself, the double-LP package compiles Pettibone reworks of tracks like Loleatta Holloway's "Love Sensation," Leroy Burgess' "Heartbreaker" and First Choice's "Let No Man Put Asunder," among other tracks by Candido, Instant Funk and the Salsoul Orchestra. Pettibone is one of the most influential artists in the history of the remix—after his tenure working for Salsoul in the late '70s, he went on to provide official remixes for the likes of Madonna, Depeche Mode, George Michael and Janet Jackson. Various compilations of his work have been released in the past, including a 2012 release called Shep Pettibone Mastermixes focusing on his post-Salsoul career, but this is the first time his remixes for the foundational disco label have been collected in one place. 

A1 Loleatta Holloway - Love Sensation (Shep Pettibone 12-inch Mix) 
A2 Salsoul Orchestra - Ooh I Love It (Love Break) (Shep Pettibone 12-inch Mix) 
B1 Candido - Jingo (A Shep Pettibone Mix) 
B2 Instant Funk - (Just Because) You'll Be Mine (Shep Pettibone 12-inch Mix) 
C1 Inner Life - Moment Of My Life (Shep Pettibone Extended Mix) 
C2 Leroy Burgess - Heartbreaker (Shep Pettibone 12-inch Mix) 
D1 First Choice - Let No Man Put Asunder (Original Shep Pettibone 12-inch Mix) 
D2 Weeks & Co - Knock Knock (Original Shep Pettibone 12-inch Instrumental Version)